Our beautiful village is built on two small hills on the right banks of the Acheloos river, and on the road that stretches from Aitoliko to Astakos.

The village is surrounded by a beautiful meadow of roughly seven square kilometers, made up mostly of olive and orange trees as well as a big variety of seasonal crops.

     On the east north- east side it borders the Aheloos river, on the south its adjacent to the prefecture of “Palaiokatouna” (later named “lessinion”), and on the west south-west side it borders an area named “Ktima Lessiniou”

     Our village is new, without distant roots. During the revolutionary war of 1821 it was a small settlement of farmers. According to local legends and newspapers of the time, the Turkish army that was occasionally passing through on their way to Mesologi had been referring to the area as “mpountolovitsa”

     Following the revolution, a lot of families from  other parts of Greece settled  in the area, mainly from Moria,  Xiromero,  Ipiro,  and Evrytania and where ultimatelly responsible for the development of the region as we know it today.  

    For the history, below I include extracts from the decree of 3 April 1833, which talks about the Country’s division to Prefectures and provinces:

Article 1.- The Kingdom of Greece is divided in 10 Prefectures and 42 Provinces.

Article 2.- The Prefectures of the Kingdom are: a) Argolida and Korinthia, V) Ahaias kaj Ilidos, g)Messinias, d) Arkadia, e) Lakonia, st) Akarnanias and Aitolias, Z) Fokida and Lokridos, I) Attica and Viotia, C) Evia, ι) Κυκλάδων.

Article 8.- The Prefecture Akarnanias and Aitolias is divided to the following provinces: a) Akarnanias which included Provinces Xiromeroy, Vonitsis and Valto – and the Capital Dragameston (Astakos), b) Mesologgiou, c) Naypaktias which inluded Provinces Naupactos, Venetikou and Kravaron –and the capital Nafpaktos, d) Agrinio which included the Province Vlohou – and the Capital Vrahorion (Agrinio), e) Kalidromis which included the Province Karpenisiou and Agrafon – and the Capital Karpenision. Metropolis of Prefecture the Arginion.

     On 3 October 1833 the king Othonas travelled in the Mesologgi. The magazine "Stereoelladiki Estia”, copy 2-3 1969, wrote: The arrival of the king at the port propageted through the region, the people ran to the water, men, women, children, seniors.  A number of small boats were bringing local politicians and students.  The Archpriest, in his formal wear, with his priest were waiting by the water. The King in front of the gathered persons said, in the Greek Language, “I walk today on the ground of a city, whose heroic acts are etched in my soul.  And as I am drawn here by these feelings, I am naming your city as the Capital of the prefecture. And gave to the local governing leader the king’s decree which stated: "The City of Mesologgiou is named to Metropolis of Prefecture Akarnanias and Aitolias and also the governing seat to be moved from Arginion to Mesologgi - Nafplion 22 September 1833".

     In the years afterwards the Revolution of twenty one and the emancipation of Greece, wider regions constituted Municipalities. On 27 September 1840 with Decree they were named: the exisitng municipalities of the Prefecture Akarnanias are being redrawn to the folloing eight:  Astakos, Ehinou, Oiniados, Souliou and Anaktorou of Province Vonitsis and to the Amvrakias, Idomenis and Thiamou Province of Valtos.

     Thus, Podolovitsa and the villages Katohi - Palaiokatouna -Palaiomanina and Rigani constituted the Municipality Oiniados and each village bacame its own community. Podolovitsa became a community with the decree of 13 August 1912. The first Community Council consisted of: Alexandros Petronikolos, chairman, Ioannis Kaponis, member, Eustathios Katsanos, member, Gerasimos Koutroulis, member. 

     Podolovitsa, because the name was foreign, it was renamed with decree of 12 March 1928 to Pentalofos.


Loosely translated from an extract from the book of Kostas Alex. Petronikolou -  “Podolovitsa-Pentalofos”